Measure 38: Muscle Relaxation and more about Bach

It seems like the “cello blogsphere” has been somewhat quiet the last week or so.

This past Tuesday I left work at exactly 4:00 to get home in time to practice the cello for an hour or so. I stopped by Starbucks to get a large coffee – which was free because I had to wait a few minutes for it to brew – …my afternoon was off to a great start. For the last few months I have wanted to use Emily Wright’s warm-up routine. I am usually rushing around so when I find a few minutes here and there to play (at least during the week) – I am frazzled and probably in the midst of a Starbucks caffeine high.

Emily’s warm-up routine begins with some muscle relaxation exercises that I found to be very effective. However, it was the breathing portion of this exercise that really made an impression with me. I guess I am one of these types that does not breathe normal while I am playing. I have experienced tension while I am playing but have never really thought too much about it. I hope to incorporate forced breathing into my warm-up scale routines and be aware of it while I am playing. So, thank you Emily for bringing awareness to this.

In my “measure 36” post, I talked about a book I recently purchased and have began reading titled “Dance and the Music of J.S. Bach”. Thus far I am pretty impressed with this book. I like how the authors have started the book by establishing historical and cultural context in the time of Bach. Bach grew up in a Germany that was just coming out of a 30 year war and of which there was significant infusion of French culture and customs. One of these customs was the French style of dancing. Music was written to directly compliment certain styles of dance. It is reasonable to assume that Bach was heavily influenced and his music is a reflection of that.

I will offer more details in the coming weeks and/or months; especially when I get into the music types themselves (minuets, gavottes, etc…). I think I will be successful in better approaching some of the Suzuki’s pieces as a result of this book, learning something in the process, and sharing the information here on the blog and with my cello instructor – a win-win-win.

Finally, I had a last minute practice this past Tuesday with a few folks from church that are in the “praise / worship band”. They asked me to play an accompanying cello part for an Easter-related song they are performing this Sunday upcoming; two instruments (acoustic guitar, cello) and two female vocals. It is a very “pretty” song called “At the foot of the Cross”. My part is relatively simple and if I were more skilled I could probably play a tougher part that a violin would typically play. Regardless, it’s another opportunity to perform and enjoy something that brings so much pleasure.

4 Responses to “Measure 38: Muscle Relaxation and more about Bach”

  1. Gottagopractice Says:

    That does sound like a nice arrangement. I’d love to see/hear it if you record it.

    I’ve read your book, and could stand to read it again. When I took a course on Baroque performance practice one of the most fun classes was when our instructor (a cellist) played dance excerpts, at first so we could compare and contrast, and later as a game to see which ones we could name based on their characteristics. I don’t know why that is so hard for me, but it sure was fun.

    And yes, it has been quiet around here, hasn’t it?

  2. Found your blog through Maricello’s blogroll.

    Sounds like you’ll be learning how to improvise continuo parts soon.

    I’m currently working my way through Suzuki Book I & II so your posts are interesting for me.

    Some of the pieces are not actually by Bach even through they are atttrib to him by the Suzuki books.

  3. yay hooray! I am so happy that it helped. While I am a proper breathing machine while playing the cello, I am a beginning student at breathing during the rest of my life. 🙂

  4. Cello Muser Says:

    @GGP – The “At the Foot of the Cross” performance is postponed until the week after Easter. One of the two ladies singing had to bail early Sunday morning because of a sick kiddo. I will try to remember to copy a portion of the mp3 from the service that has the performance and either post or send directly (if it passes my review..).

    @Marisa – Thanks for the comment. I checked out your site – sound like you are more aggressive then I am in learning this instrument and playing with others. I was hoping to tackle “The Swan” in years three or four – may be I will move the goal up a little bit.

    @Emily – I would have linked your practice exercise to the post – but your site is still down 🙂

Leave a comment